Singapore…

I’m back from Singapore.  My heart is full of thankfulness.  Thankfulness that I have the opporunity to obtain quality health care in Singapore.  Thankful for my friend Tricia who accompanied me and lugged my stuff around and happily served me breakfast in bed among other things.  Thankful for R who was able to be with the kids each day after school and do some cooking on top of that.  Thankful for friends who had Hugo and the kids over for dinner.  And thankful for the encouragement of friends and acquaintances from near and far.  And I could go on…

I arrived in Singapore on Tuesday evening and had an MRI the next morning at 10:00.  Later in the afternoon, after we’d done some all important shopping, the doctor informed me that I did not have a torn meniscus but had a super tight ligament that was pulling my kneecap over to the outside and in turn grinding away at the cartilage in my knee.  He recommened a key hole surgery.  Thankfully the insurance company was fairly quick with their approval process and the following day I was able to have surgery.  It amazes me at how quickly you go under once the anesthesia is injected!  The following day I saw the doctor and then had a physio session.  They put electrode things on my thigh and I endured 20 minutes of shock therapy…  little shocks…  I used crutches for the first few days but quickly got sick of them.  I can put weight on my leg, that’s not the issue.  I just need to do exercises to bring back the ability to fully extend my leg out straight (tightenend hamstring) and to be able to bend it with ease.  Monday evening Tricia and I headed back and arrived in Papua at 8:00 am Tuesday morning.  That night flight is brutal!  You feel jet-lagged upon arrival even though Singapore is only one hour behind Papua.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Erica Feunekes

Myself, my husband Hugo and our five kids live and work in Sentani, Papua, with Mission Aviation Fellowship.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Singapore…

  1. doulanic says:

    Yikes! That’s some contraption (the electrodes!) ! I don’t think I’ve ever seen them that big before – but then again, I’m only usedto seeing TENS machines. And yikes – that’s quite a bit of swelling on your knee. But good to hear you’re home and recovering. I’m sure you’ll let us know when you’re back into soccer and hockey! 🙂 Take good care of yourself. Praying that the healing is complete!

Leave a Reply

